Jobs & Funding

Jobs & Funding: Show

The Rachel Feldhay Brenner Award in Polish-Jewish Studies | Award

Advertising organisation

The Polish Institute of Arts and Sciences of America (PIASA)


History Jewish studies


Jewish-Polish relations


The award, named for Rachel Feldhay Brenner (1946-2021), an eminent Polish-Israeli-American literary scholar, is given annually to the author of the best English-language book on the history and/or culture of Polish Jews. The winner of the Rachel Feldhay Brenner Award in Polish-Jewish Studies will receive a $1000 prize and will also be recognized during the PIASA’s annual conference at Central Connecticut State University in New Britain, June 9-11, 2023.


  • The nominated book must be written in the English language
  • The book must have been published during the 2021 calendar year
  • Both books containing original research or new, original syntheses are eligible for consideration; edited collections and self-published books are ineligible

Nominations, including self-nominations, should include:

  • A cover letter marking the submission as “Rachel Feldhay Brenner Award Nomination”
  • A curriculum vitae of the nominee
  • Three copies of the published book, one for each member of the award committee

Questions, including those related to contact information for sending nominations to award committee members, should be directed to Robert Blobaum at

The winner of the Rachel Feldhay Brenner Award will be selected by the following group of scholars:

Eliyana Adler, Pennsylvania State University.

Shoshana Ronen, University of Warsaw.

Piotr Wrόbel, University of Toronto.

Further details

Robert Blobaum
Pol-Int team

Privacy policy

Pol-Int uses cookies to ensure our website works properly (required cookies). We also ask for your permission to use cookies for analytical purposes (statistical cookies). You can manage or revise your cookie settings at any time.