14.04. until 15.04.2021 in Berlin, online, Germany

Webinar: Jewish Dissidents in the Eastern Bloc

  • 14.04. until 15.04.2021
  • Event language: English
  • Deadline for submissions: 12.04.2021
  • Selma Stern Center
  • Type of Event: Workshop

Link to this post: https://www.pol-int.org/en/node/9393

International Conference/Webinar

Organizers: Cathy Gelbin (Manchester), Sander Gilman (Emory), Monika Schärtl (Selma Stern Center)

Please register by 12 April 2021:
info@selma-stern-zentrum.de

Programm

April 14
09.00-09.30 EDT / 14.00-14.30 BST / 15.00-15.30 MESZ / CEST
Welcome: Stefanie Schüler-Springorum (Selma Stern Center)
Keynote: Thomas Krüger (German Federal Agency for Civic Education)

09.30-10.30 EDT / 14.30-15.30 BST / 15.30-16.30 MESZ / CEST
PANEL I
Chair: Norman Salusa (Selma Stern Center)
Sander Gilman (Emory): Opposition/Dissident/Collaborator/Victim/'
Magic Jew'? Jurek Becker in the GDR
Anna Shternshis (Toronto): How (not) to Say Gulag in Yiddish: Soviet Yiddish Intellectuals and the early Days of Thaw

10.30-11.00 EDT / 15.30-16.00 BST / 16.30-17.00 MESZ / CEST
Break

11.00-12.00 EDT / 16.00-17.00 BST / 17.00-18.00 MESZ / CEST
PANEL II
Chair: Stephen Parker (Cardiff / Manchester)
Mario Keßler (Leibniz Center for Contemporary History): Alfred Kantorowicz between East and West
Janek Gryta (Bristol): Navigating the Communist Reality of Poland. Regional Jewish Leaders and the Memory of the Holocaust in the 1950s and 1960s

April 15
09.00-10.00 EDT / 14.00-15.00 BST / 15.00-16.00 MESZ / CEST
PANEL III
Chair: Katja Stürzenhofecker (Manchester)
Ion Popa (Manchester): Jewish Dissidence in Romania: Definition, Chronology and Particularities
Susan Suleiman (Harvard): Forms of Intellectual Dissidence in Communist Hungary

10.00-10.30 EDT / 15.00-15.30 BST / 16.00-16.30 MESZ / CEST
Break

10.30-11.30 EDT / 15.30-16.30 BST / 16.30-17.30 MESZ / CEST
READING
Chair: Vera Tolz-Zilitinkevic (Manchester)
Maxim D. Shrayer (Boston): The Refusenik Legacy: A Reading and A Discussion

11.30-12.30 EDT / 16.30-17.30 BST / 17.30-18.30 MESZ / CEST
CONCLUDING COMMENTS
Chair: Irmela von der Lühe (Selma Stern Center)
Cathy Gelbin (Manchester): What is Jewish Dissidence?
Followed by roundtable discussion with public Q&A

Contact